These small acts of kindness make a difference

by Anita Hebeisen, HPCCR Volunteer Information Coordinator

You might think this is just another story about a volunteer, and it is, but the small acts of kindness that I am about to describe make HPCCR the organization that it is today.

Last week I had to contact a volunteer and let her know the patient she has been visiting is actively dying.  I am new at these uncomfortable calls, but mustered up the courage and called her.  As soon as I told her about her patient she said, “Thank you so much for calling.  I am going to head over to see him right away”.  I hung up and thought, “Wow, no hesitation, just, ‘I am going to head over to see him right away.'”   

I then called the social worker on the case to let her know that I had talked to the volunteer and then the social worker told me that she was also “heading over” to see the patient before he passed.  Mr. H has touched these people in a special way, and I know he will be missed.  I also know he too was touched–by a volunteer and a social worker, both of whom cared deeply for him and wanted to be with him at the end of his time. 

Because I am in the administrative area of HPCCR, I do not interact with our patients, but the stories and dedication of those who do inspire me and make me proud to work with this organization.

Explore posts in the same categories: hospice, volunteering

Leave a comment