Why I am not a nurse

by Andrea Powell, HPCCR Electronic Communications Manager

I don’t. And that’s probably a good thing!

I have to admit it: I rather like my desk job.  I can sit here and get work done and if I’m feeling particularly cranky (yes, it happens), I can close my door and kind of block out the rest of the world.  If I don’t feel particularly talkative, I can sit in front of my computer and gaze very thoughtfully and seriously at my monitor.  Most people hesitate to disturb someone who looks like they’re concentrating as hard as I am.  Seriously, you should try it.  It works. 

And that, my friends, is why I am not a nurse.  I simply don’t have the chops for it.  You know why?  Because nurses have to be “on” all the time.  They have patients who depend on them, who desperately need them.  If a nurse is having a bad day, she can’t take it out on a patient.  She puts a smile on her face and gives her best.  If a nurse gets frustrated with a patient, he doesn’t show it.  With the patience of Job, he answers questions, offers assistance, and exudes calm.

And hospice nurses?  Wow, I am totally in awe of what they do and the challenges they face.  They care not only for patients, but entire families.  Their job is to enter the lives of individuals in unimaginable physical pain and bring relief.  And at the same time, they support families suffering from crushing emotional and spiritual pain.  And you know what they do?  They step in, take control, and make things better.  They are bedrocks of comfort, oceans of calm, and fortresses of love.   

This week is National Nurses Week, a time when we honor the unquenchable spirit and compassionate nature of nurses everywhere.  It’s the time when we try to show appreciation for the undeniably tough job they have.  (You know, they say that motherhood is the toughest job you’ll ever love.  Well, if that’s true, then nursing comes in a close second.)   It’s a time to thank them for following their hearts and acknowledging their calling.   

Nurses, you make the world a better place.  You represent the pinnacle of morality and kindness.  You embody the fundamental rule we should all live by — to love our neighbors as ourselves.  On behalf of the billions of people in this great big world, I thank you. 

So nurses,  here’s my gift to you.  Any time you feel cranky and need to get some frustration out, you are more than welcome to come by our office and kick the tires on my car.  Seriously.  I totally get it.  And I won’t judge.  I probably won’t even notice.  You know, because of all that serious concentrating I’ll be doing. . . .

Explore posts in the same categories: awareness, end of life, hospice, special events

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Why I am not a nurse”

  1. Kristine Aderman Says:

    Thank you for your thoughts and humor..I really enjoyed it and appreciate it as well. I love caring for people and that is one truth I know.
    Kristine Aderman RN
    LDHH


  2. […] epic (and friendly, of course) battles were fought to take some of the merchandise home!  We also honored the nurses who work for our organization – they truly keep us […]


Leave a Reply

