Giving Back

by Lisa Muse, HPCCR volunteer

It has been two years since my husband, Tom, passed away at Levine & Dickson Hospice House.  It has been two years and 85 days since he was diagnosed with stage-4 lung cancer.  Not a day goes by that I do not think about him and miss him, and not a day goes by that I do not feel eternally grateful for Hospice & Palliative Care Charlotte Region (HPCCR) and Levine & Dickson Hospice House (LDHH).

 After a courageous two-month battle of chemotherapy and radiation during the summer of 2008, Tom and I realized the inevitable.  With the help of a compassionate HPCCR doctor and nurse, we made the decision to go to Levine & Dickson Hospice House.  My only wish is that we had decided to turn to hospice sooner for Tom’s care.

Hospice provided what no one else could—comfort, support and peace.  With compassion and grace, the staff at LDHH took great care to fulfill Tom’s every need.  They ensured that my family had everything we needed to endure this difficult time without fear and, more importantly, with love and support.   After Tom’s passing, HPCCR continued their caring work with me through bereavement support and guidance.  Having had this profound experience has changed me forever.  I began volunteering with HPCCR a year ago because I am compelled to give back to the organization and to the people who gave me hope and strength to carry on.  As I begin to rebuild my life without my love beside me, I look at things differently and appreciate the many gifts that
have come my way.

My hope is that other families can benefit from compassionate hospice care and also the services provided at Levine & Dickson Hospice House.  That is why I made the decision to include HPCCR in my estate plans.  What a wonderful way to ensure Tom’s and my legacy will continue on into the future through this financial gift.  It gives me great joy to think that my contribution will allow others to be supported and cared for by this incredible organization.

To learn how you can make a difference like Lisa has, or to learn more about the Hospice Legacy Society, contact Penelope Wilson at 704.335.4325.

Explore posts in the same categories: awareness, hospice, Levine & Dickson Hospice House, spiritual care, volunteering

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Giving Back”

  1. Daniel Hill Says:

    God bless you. Someday you will be reunited with Tom! Then, no one or no thing will separate you again.

  2. David Bayer ... aka Doc B Says:

    Lisa … well written and heartfelt. I’ve been a volunteer with Hospice for three years or so … doing video life reviews. It has been a very rewarding volunteer effort for me. I get back more than I give. Your enthusiasm is obvious … so happy you decided to volunteer after your loss. I wish you happiness!

    Doc B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 905 other followers

